Greenwich High

Greenwich High girls tennis players receive All-FCIAC Team accolades

Photo courtesy of Greenwich High School girls tennis team: From left to right, Ivanna Diez de Bonilla, Abby Shropshire and Julia Tamis each earned All-FCIAC First Team honors recently for Greenwich.

Seven members of the Greenwich High School girls tennis team received honors by the FCIAC, after they produced impressive performances for the Cardinals throughout the 2021 season.

Sophomore Ivanna Diez de Bonilla was selected as an All-FCIAC First Team Singles player. Diez de Bonilla filled the role as the Cardinals’ No. 1 singles player and was up to the challenge. She was victorious in most of her matches at the top singles spot, a position in which she faced strong opponents every match during the season. Diez de Bonilla will be relied upon to help lead the Cardinals singles lineup in future seasons.

Senior Abby Shropshire and sophomore Julia Tamis received All-FCIAC Doubles accolades. Shropshire, a co-captain and Tamis, displayed impressive chemistry in their first season as a doubles team. They played at No. 1 doubles for the Cardinals, where they provided clutch wins against formidable FCIAC foes.

Photo courtesy of Lulu Diez de Bonilla: Abby Shropshire, left and Ivanna Diez de Bonilla helped lead the Cardinals this spring.

Kyra Dybas, a freshman, senior Kira Popa and freshman Emily Weinstein were All-FCIAC West Team selections. Dybas excelled at second singles in her first varsity season, displaying her all-court skills. Popa and Weinstein provided standout play at second doubles and were instrumental in helping to lead Greenwich to significant wins against FCIAC opponents.

Malena Schraa also earned a spot in Greenwich’s lineup as a freshman and was a force throughout the year. She won the majority of her matches at third singles, defeating most of her foes in straight sets. Schraa will also be a fixture in the singles lineup for the next several seasons. She was recognized as an Honorable Mention selection by the FCIAC.

From left to right: Kyra Dybas, Emily Weinstein and Kira Popa and Malena Schraa earned FCIAC honors.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s